Thread: Cause of problem in this photo

Cause of problem in this photo

Hello, I'm a novice to DSLR photography and this is probably really obvious. But can anyone tell me what caused the secondary image of the window in this photo? Is it flare? And how to avoid it? I had the same problem with several photos on this trip, very irritating.
    I was using a Nikon D5000 and a Nikkor 35mm f1.8G lens, with only a basic UV filter.
    Thanks.

Cause of problem in this photo
    Last edited by SJHC; 6th August 2012 at 03:40 PM. Reason: Now with photo!

Real Name
    Tom

Re: Cause of problem in this photo

Yup, it's flair. To solve it, get rid of that stupid UV filter.

Real Name
    Gretchen

being me, I have to wonder: "how cool would it look if you could overlay and flip a less opaque version of the model? So that her "ghost" would be looking at her from the window?" What you see as a problem, makes my mind go off on all kinds of tangents . . LOL. I'm strange, yes, I know.

Real Name
    Dan

Quote Originally Posted by tclune View Post
    Yup, it's flair. To solve it, get rid of that stupid UV filter.

yes, it's flair. I don't want to start an iteration of the 'use filters/ don't use filters' argument, but I'd suggest this:

--don't use cheap filters of any kind, UV or other. Stick with good mult-coated filters to lessen flair. Good mid-priced brands include Hoya and Marumi.

--If you do use UV filters for protection (with digital, there is no other reason to use one), take it off when the light is in front of you, as it was in this photo, to lessen flare. [Full disclosure: I sometimes do and sometimes don't use UV filters for protection, depending on the circumstances and the lighting.]

--Filters are not the only source of flare. Lenses are made of glass too, and they flare. Some flare more than others. Even without a filter, you risk flare with a strong light source in front of you.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Quote Originally Posted by DanK View Post