Thread: Choice of polarising filter

Real Name
    Dave

Choice of polarising filter

Hi,

I plan to buy at least one polarising filter for improved control in landscape and outdoor photography. There is a huge choice, at a wide variety or price points, from Canon's at £150 plus, down to stuff at a few pounds (which I certainly wouldn't buy). I'm not a professional photographer, but I do like to get the best shots I can with the equipment I have (Canon 600D, SIGMA 17-70 f2.8 - f4 (likely to be my main landscape lens), and a Tamron 70-300 f4-f5.6)

Can anyone suggest what price / manufacturers would fit the bill. I know that you get what you pay for, but sometimes there isn't a significant difference from top to middle. I guess I would be looking for a "thin" filter to minimise vignetting?

Thanks,

Dave
    Last edited by davidedric; 3rd August 2012 at 11:09 AM.

Real Name
    Ian (the other one)

Re: Choice of polarising filter

For digital photography one is supposed to use a circular polariser it seems - I've generally bought HOYA because they've always worked for me (and yes, I have a few different diameters) The Pro series are pretty thin - when you use it just take off any UV protective filter to reduce the risk of vignetting.

Real Name
    Dan

I also generally buy Hoya (HMC or S-HMC), but last year I bought a Marumi CPL after reading an excellent review on lenstip.com. The Marumi outscored the Hoya and was cheaper. I can't say that I have noticed any difference between that and my Hoyas. The Marumi, like the Hoya Pro, is very thin.

Real Name
    Tom