Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Canon Pro9000 and Spyder Print

Real Name
    Bruce

Canon Pro9000 and Spyder Print

I've recently purchased the Canon Pro 9000 printer and will soon acquire a Spyder display calibrator. For a short period of time, the manufacturer has a significant rebate on its SpyderStudio suite, which includes Spyder Elite as well as Spyder Print. I'm still at the stage of experimenting with different print papers but will likely end up using Canon, and Ilford Smooth Pearl or one of the Hahnemule papers, with ICC profiles from the relevant manufacturers.

My question: Is it worth purchasing obtaining the Spyder Print so I can prepare my own ICC printing profiles or am I likely to be happy simply using the relevant ICC profiles?

I'm an amateur and will never do printing professionally.

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Canon Pro9000 and Spyder Print

I can only half answer. I have a 9000 II and have had excellent results with the paper manufacturers' ICC profiles, but I don't use the papers you mention. I use almost entirely Moab and Red River papers.

Real Name
    Steve

I suppose it could be useful Bruce; for things like superior quality paper being given away by the local High st stationer because they never sell any, as happened to me with buy one box get two free.

Trouble was I didn't get a single good print because I couldn't find a profile for HP(amazing sharpness though), and now I exclusively use Ilford Premium Pearl 270gsm paper with the Ilford manufacturers profile, which is mostly accurate enough for my needs since I only choose to print one A3+ a month.

Canon Paper Pro II is much higher in resolution but gloss doesn't suit me, however it was easier to use even though I have a profile simply because I PP under a mixture of natural and tungsten light but view the images under natural light. For some reason the Canon Pro II didn't need any adjustment but the Ilford was too green and this was adjusted using a pattern print.