Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lighting really makes a difference!

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Lighting really makes a difference!

I am a complete novice when it comes to studio photography, so I am studying it to develop some skills. I completed an exercise today recommended in the book, Light: Science & Magic, so I could see the effects of lighting shiny metal. Despite that I knew what to expect thanks to the book, it was really amazing -- and very, very educational -- to experience it.

In all three images shown below, the only thing that changes is the lighting, which is shining directly on the subject (no reflected light was used). The spatula is placed on white foam core. They and the camera remain exactly in the same place except when I reshot the second image and accidentally moved the tripod just a tad. Exposure was for the desired effect in the flat part of the spatula. All images are in color, not black-and-white.

Image #1: One light placed within the area called the family of angles.

Image #2: One light placed outside the family of angles.

Image #3: One light placed exactly as in Image #1 within the family of angles and a fill light placed outside the family of angles though not in the same place as Image #2.

Last edited by Mike Buckley; 24th July 2012 at 12:55 AM.

Real Name
    Terri

Re: Lighting really makes a difference!

Thanks for sharing your experiment with us. Very interesting.

Yes that final shot really looks 'alive'. Lighting is certainly a tricky subject but it can make all the difference.

Real Name
    Robert S.

Very interessting experiment. Looks like you had a lot of fun while learning.

bye
    Robert

Thanks, everyone!