Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First attempt. C&C please

Real Name
    Rodrigo

First attempt. C&C please

This is a moment shot. My wife singing while getting our nephew ready for a nice bath (perhaps rehearsing for motherhood).
    I've tried some minor adjustments regarding contrast, colour and some croping.

I'm quite new in photography, and this is my first post here.

Rildes editada cópia por RLanna, no Flickr

Canon EOS T3 rebel f/5.6, 1/80s, ISO 125, Focal lenght 43mm (Cannon lens 55-200mm f 4.6-5)

Real Name
    Kevin

Re: First attempt. C&C please

Hi, RLanna

When you have a moment to complete your profile we can all be a bit friendlier.

I would not know you are new to photography from this lovely picture. Getting the right exposure with backlighting can be tricky, and you darn near nailed it.

If your post-processing program allows it, you might try lifting the shdowing from the little man's face, and across your wife's back, neck and head.

As a new Grandpa, I am trying to be sensitive to how the child might feel about the picture in the future, so I generally will crop above anything that might be construed as embarassing in the future. The vertical portion of the crop would require some decisions: I might be tempted to crop into your wife's neck to the right of her ear- it would re-establish your perspective and remove most of the under-exposed areas on her back., and re-establish the viewers' focus onto the great expressions you captured. I encourage you to experiment with several crop options and pick your favorite.

Having said that, there's nothing more innocent than a baby, and I would certainly understand if you left it as is except for lifting the exposure areas.

Here's a quick stab at it. Please say if you'd prefer no one adjust your images and I'll certainly comply henceforth

Real Name
    Rodrigo

Thanks, Kevin.