Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nikon D7000, Kit Lens Or?

Real Name
    Joshua

Nikon D7000, Kit Lens Or?

I have been shooting with my Canon 450D for around five years now, and feel the need to upgrade to a different camera body. Since the recent death of my 28-105mm kit lens I now only have a Canon Ultrasonic EF 75-300mm, so I'm not too attached the glass that remains to me. I have used several Nikons over the last couple years that some friends of mine own, and I've decided to switch to Nikon. I believe I have narrowed down my selection to the Nikon D7000, because it has a lot of features I like, and it's within my price range. Now begins the second phase of my selection, where I decide what glass to begin with. I know that the 18-105mm kit lens it comes with is a solid lens from what many here have said, but I am wondering if it would be worth spending a little more, to get a better lens.

For the time being I plan to start with a lens that will work well for portrait, and landscape photography. Later on I will invest in a telephoto lens because I do enjoy wildlife photography, but that is something I can worry about later. While I do have a decent understanding of how to find my way around the average D-SLR and how to utilize the manual settings, I will be the first to admit that I don't have a fantastic understanding of lenses. Is it a good idea to stick with Nikon brand lenses? Am I mainly just paying for the name? Are lesser known lens brands like Sigma a viable option as long as it's compatible with my camera body? Specific suggestions on a particular model of lens would be preferable, since I feel like I'm already neck deep in lens reviews, and just getting more overwhelmed by the paragraph.

As far as my budget goes, I would like to spend around $1,500 for the body, as well as the lens. I tried to give you a good run down of what I'm looking for, but if you have any questions for me, or things you would like me to clarify then please just let me know .