Thread: Background Blur/Bokeh for portraiture

Real Name
    Reginald

Background Blur/Bokeh for portraiture

I'm relatively new to photography... and I admit that I have yet to master all the bells and whistles of my camera (it was a gift after all) if a newbie to photography is someone on the ground floor, I would describe myself as probably still standing outside the building. and I REALLY want to be INSIDE that building!

so please bear with me my question is actually two parts.... I think , I've always wanted to try a "portrait shot" the kind that has the subject in focus and having the background blurred enough that your eyes are immediately drawn to the subject. (did i get that right? sorry English isn't really my first language)

after reading the tutorials, (some of it still sounds Greek to me, I hope to understand some of it after I read it again.... and while I continue to fiddle and get familiar with the settings of my camera.. hopefully...eventually.. ) I find that there is a range/focal length (?) in the type of lenses used for "portraits" and that the lens I use apparently doesn't fall into that category (17-55) but I also read that you can use different lenses to achieve the same kind of thing like using a telephoto lens for landscapes as opposed to wide angle lenses.

so my question would be, could I get a "portrait shot" out of my lens that includes that nice "background blur?" and the second is why is the range of 70+ in lenses considered as "portrait" territory? I've been reading that the 80 range/length (?) is the correct (?) range to use when doing portrait pictures. Does that mean that I should only shoot at my lens' maximum length of 55mm (w/c translates to 80 something on my 60D?) to get my desired effect?

many thanks in advance! for those who care to teach this wonderful skill/art to me, still standing outside and in awe of that building

Real Name
    Patrick

re: Background Blur/Bokeh for portraiture