Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: wide angle lens

Real Name
    Rick Stanley

wide angle lens

I'm new to Digital SLR photography. I was wondering about a lens I have. It's a Canon 18mm-135mm. Can this be used as a wide angle lens?? If not what would be a good choice.

Real Name
    Scott

Re: wide angle lens

It is a general-purpose lens, and not what is considered a wide angle lens. On the other hand, the 18 mm end of your lens should be wide enough for a lot of things. What do you want to shoot? Have you shot the lens much? Do you find it lacking in width?

I don't have a true "wide angle" lens either, but my general lens goes about as wide as yours, and I am not personally feeling the need for anything else. On the other hand, I don't really shoot a lot of landscapes; I mostly shoot my kids and the occasional animal or bird. If you are seriously needing more, the options go as wide as 14, 12, 10 or even 8mm, BUT they are expensive and the widest of these are quite heavily distorted "fish-eye" lenses, which I personally think of more as a novelty item.

If you only shoot ultra-wide occasionally, you get better (undistorted) results by taking 2 or 3 pictures in a horizontal spread, and then using software to "knit" them together. That is not only undistorted, but also free, or at least it is one of the many features included in post-processing software you probably want to have anyway.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by riverrick View Post
    I'm new to Digital SLR photography. I was wondering about a lens I have. It's a Canon 18mm-135mm. Can this be used as a wide angle lens?? If not what would be a good choice.
    Hi Rick,

If it's on a full frame camera then 18mm should be plenty wide enough. If it's on a crop-factor camera then it's still pretty wide, but you may want something wider (or you may not -- I have no idea what you're intending to use it for).