Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Could use some guidance...

Real Name
    Samantha

Could use some guidance...

I am a self taught photographer. I have been working my tushie off trying to make myself a great wedding photographer. I have worked hard to second shoot and help out no matter what the request.... I have not undersold myself or tried to take away anyone elses work but charging less than what a respectable photographer should charge.....

BUT IM SO STUCK!

I LOVE doing what I am doing, and have learned so much.. But I STILL just cant seem to find my artistic voice.

I know what I want my photos to look like. But try as I may... trying different exposures, different lighting etc, I just can seem to make it work. I have tried everything I can think of in lightroom too.

I know what I want but I cant seem to make it work. I need some guidance on how to make it work.
    I am not one to normally ask for help but I am actually losing sleep trying to find my way on my own... racking my brain.

I think some of this has to do with lighting. I am still struggling with flash. Its a love hate relationship. Sometimes I nail it, sometimes its not at all what I was going for...

Anyways to the point:

I want photos to be very fresh, lots of airy almost 'over exposed' looking images. Muted tones but not vintagey looking. I hit it (ALMOST) on occassion and will post here, what I am talking about. But I can seem to figure out the formula.
    And they still fall short....

The ones below are mine....
    But What I see in my mind, what I want in my photos - this chick has nailed it.

http://www.elizabethinlove.com/

Dont get me wrong. I dont want to copy her work by any means...I love and admire the hell out of it... And when I found her website a few weeks ago, I finally was able to point to something and say "THAT! THATS WHAT I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO MAKE HAPPEN!!!"... Once I can get there I can put my own twist on it.