Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: New lens for Pentax K7

New lens for Pentax K7

As a beginning photographer I see my direction heading towards macro.
    I have a Pentax K7 with a Pentax 18-55mm DA and a Pentax 50-200mm DA
    I was considering using extension tubes to got the inexpensive way but when you think about it, you get what you pay for!
    So I was wondering if anybody had a recommendation for a macro lens.
    It doesnt have to be a Pentax lens either.
    I have been looking at the Tamron AF 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD.
    It seems to have great reviews
    When you purchase a lens that is not of the same make as your camera, will the lens and the camera talk to each other or do you lose some of the functions?
    Any advice that will help me I would sure appreciate that

Thanks!

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: New lens for Pentax K7

First of all, I'm trying to figure out why you would want to duplicate the range that you already have with your two existing lenses; i.e. 18mm - 200mm. I suspect that optically the two lenses you already own are superior to the Tamron, as these wide-range zooms have some really wierd distortion patterns.

Secondly, this is not really a macro lens; Tamron claims a 1:3.7 capability. A true macro is 1:1.

The "lens and camera talk" is usually taken care of by the third party manfacturer, but there could be some "gotchas", and I am not familiar with the Pentax line, so can't comment. We have Tokina and Sigma lenses that work and communicate with our Nikon cameras, and a Samyang that does not and has to be used manually. Check with your camera retailer to find out for sure.

Thank you for your reply. I see shots that are extremely close up and
    I can get close in with these lenses but I would like to get in closer.
    I am just starting out so I do not know the full extent of what I can do with these lenses.
    I am learning and I practice every day!