Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Photo Editing Programs for Beginners

Real Name
    Christina

Photo Editing Programs for Beginners

I am just learning Photoshop Elements 9 but it seems that it does not have everything one needs. (CS4 is out of my budget at this time) Therefore, I have just downloaded a trial of Lightroom 3.2 and DX0 Optics.

In trying out Lightroom and I enjoy the simplicity of adjusting the exposure and lighting, which it seems to fix in small increments so it is easy to see how your edits are affecting your photos.

The DXO optics has lens corrections which are supposed to offset little glitches in your camera lens, like chromatic aberrations and purple fringing and lens softness

Does one need all 3 programs to optimize your photos? Any recommendations as to whether lightroom or DXO optics would prove more useful to someone new to editing photos, who prefers to keep their editing quick and easy?

Thank you.

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Photo Editing Programs for Beginners

No, you certainly don't need all three. Not to disparage DXO Optics--for all I know, it is great software--but I have never used it.

If you shoot raw (yes, you should), then you need a raw conversion program. Lightroom serves that purpose (it's what I use), but your camera probably came with free software for that, e.g., Digital Photo Professional.

Assuming you shoot raw, then you need two functions: you have to render the raw image, and you need editing. Lightroom does both, but it does not do some types of editing, in particular, selections and masks. For that, you would need another program, such as Elements, Photoshop, or Paint Shop Pro.