Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Could you give me some advice - inexpensive zoom

Could you give me some advice - inexpensive zoom

After reading numberous forums I happened across this one and the membership really seem to have great opinions and advice so I figured I would join.

I am far from a professional or even mid range with a digital camera but always have one with me and like taking pictures. I spend A LOT of time deer hunting all over and scouting pre and post season. Right now I own a smaller Canon Digital pocket size so its easy to carry and a Canon S3 IS but usually just leave them on auto and shoot as I could never really figure out the other modes. What I have found this year is a lot of the deer and other wildlife I come across are about 300yrds away and I have to always max out the zoom on the S3 to get there and when I do of course the pics are blurry and out of focus a bit.

Today I decided to hopefully buy a little better camera and lens where I could get out there a little more and after visiting a reputable shop in the area and looking at a Canon XS package which comes with the standard lens and then adding either a Sigma 120-400 or 150-500

I guess I was shocked at the price tag and am wondering if it is really worth it for a few months a year. I was wondering if a few members could give me some opinions on another option maybe that would let me zoom in a little closer than my S3 without breaking the bank.

Thanks
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 24th July 2009 at 12:53 AM.

Re: Could you give me some advice

I am also a beginner and have the XS. You mention if it is worth it for only a few months out of the year. I promise you that once you start using it, it will not be for only a few months out of the year.

~Heather

Real Name
    Steaphany

Re: Could you give me some advice

If you decide to go with a dSLR camera body, I suggest you taking a look at an Orion Apex 90mm Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope.