Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Bracketing in manual mode

Real Name
    J stands for John

Bracketing in manual mode

After reading the adjacent thread 'auto bracketing in manual --D90' I searched tutorials for information on compliling and either missed the info or it is not there
    My background is with Panoramas and since I have rarely used a tripod for them I am puzzled by the other thread OP's concern about touching the camera becuase as with a pano I would hope the separate files are organised as layers prior to compilation. If this is what happens I would expect a slightly out of alinement file/layer to be easilly registered with the others. I adjust the density of the layer I am registering to perhaps 50% to aid this process and the 'correction' needed with a pano is much more than a slightly nudged bracket frame.

An alternative approach would be a tethered set-up with shutter speed controlled from the computer? Perhaps not practicable in the field.

Real Name
    Mark Fleming

Re: Bracketing in manual mode

I am puzzled by the other thread OP's concern about touching the camera becuase as with a pano I would hope the separate files are organised as layers prior to compilation.
    That would indeed be the case. The OP in the other thread was referring to keeping all their images sharp. Whilst taking panoramas handheld works fine as far as alignment in software is concerned, each individual image still needs to be sharp for an optimal result. Using a tripod assures this.

Real Name
    J stands for John

I do not share your faith in tripods, but thanks for confirming that the exposures are assembled in a stack of layers, so a tripod may be advantageous, but the OP shouldn't be unduely worried about mis-registration from touching the camera to adjust shutter speed as there is a fix in editing.
    Last edited by jcuknz; 4th June 2012 at 09:00 AM.

Real Name
    Richard