Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: printing on canvas

printing on canvas

I am a Photographer, many times I require my COLOUR photographs printed on CANVAS., and for that I am required to convert it from sRGB to CMYK.,on many occassion I dont get true colours of the original photographs., and if I want it in Black & White I dont get true Black & white prints on Canvas., although bafter conversion to CMYK my pictures appears to be true Black and white.... as a result my money is wasted

This is always happening., can anybody suggest best way to convert RGB photos toCMYK for printing on CANVAS....?

Any help or guidance will be highly appreciated,

Thanks

Ashwin photographer

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: printing on canvas

Hi Ashwin,

Thanks for posting your question - finally something I can "get my teeth stuck into" today

I print on to canvas for a living (well, one of the things I do for a living anyway), so perhaps I can help.

First question though, "why are you converting to CMYK"? Is this a requirement of whoever does your prints? Although most large format printers use a CMYK inkset (I use an Epson 7800), they none-the-less have an RGB interface.

The other issue is colour-management; essentially there's two things we need to get right here - (1) your monitor needs to be calibrated and profiled, and (2) the whatever printer/canvas combination your using needs to be profiled as well. If you've got those two things sorted then your well on your way.