Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Help with studio lighting (softbox/equipment information)

Help with studio lighting (softbox/equipment information)

Hi there. This is my first post and I have not done much browsing of this forum in the past, so please forgive me if I am asking a question that has been asked many times before.

I have been asked to do some studio ball photography. Very simple stuff. People stand in front of a screen and get their picture taken.

I know nothing about lighting. I have been doing a bit of research, but am still a complete noob.

I was thinking of using two softboxes with two strobes - Nikon SB600 Speedlights (NOT the continuous bulbs).

What I want to know is, exactly what equipment do I need to achieve this?

Obviously I need a softbox. The difficulty I've found with this is that most of the ones on warehouseexpress.com (the only UK photography seller I've found to date) seem to be the softboxes that attach to lights/continuous heads, rather than hotshoe strobes/flashes/speedlights. So I've had trouble finding a suitable 60x60-100x100 softbox of this specification. Any recommendations/tips?

Then I will need a lightstand, and the brackets to attach the hotshoe flash/strobe/speedlight to the stand and also a bracket to attach the softbox to the stand and the hotshoe strobe. Unfortunately I don't know the specific names of these brackets and so I haven't been able to search for them. Any help regarding this matter?