Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikkor 75-300 or 70-210 f4

Real Name
    Blake

Nikkor 75-300 or 70-210 f4

I've fairly recently switched to a Nikon D90, but that means I have to get myself a longer lens. Being a starving student, I can probably do better with the used market.

Now I think I have it narrowed down to the 75-300 f4-5.6 (the one with the tripod mount) and the 70-210 f4 (not the 4-5.6 that seems to always be ridiculously overpriced).

From what I've read, optically they're both not half bad, but the 70-210 seems to be a little hard to find. Does anyone have any experience with either of them?

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Nikkor 75-300 or 70-210 f4

If you are a starving student; the f/4 - 5.6 55-200mm is dirt cheap and the f/4 - 5.6 55-300 is not much more expensive. Both are stabilized lenses; if your want to hand-hold; you really should be looking at one of the newer lenses. The 55-200 is the second lens I bought for my D90. The plastic lens mounts are the only thing I don't like about the lens.

The other lenses you are looking at have the screw focus and don't have the VR functionality, so both would be less than ideal. I believe the 70-210 is a push/pull zoom; which is not something everyone likes.

Real Name
    Trevor Reeves

I use the 75-300mm f4-5.6. It is a good lens. The only qualm I have with it is that it is not pin sharp at anything over about 200 mm at all apertures and and at it's worse wide open. Not too bad at over f8 but that means you are at some longer times which can be problematic for anything that moves. Forget hand holding; entirely. Unless you like blurry images.