Thread: Full Moon B&W skyline HELP PLEASE!

Real Name
    Ginny King

Full Moon B&W skyline HELP PLEASE!

After reading all the threads on critiquing photographs I am a little gun-shy of posting and will probably provide too much information. But, I really need help and want to learn.

I am new to photography (less than six months) so help is most appreciated. I tend to jump in with both feet into the deep end because I learn better that way, although it would probably be better if I learned one step at a time and did not try such complicated shots.

This was shot under the light of the "supermoon" with a Canon T3i and my kit telephoto lens. Settings F10, exp 2.5s, ISO 100, focal length 110. What I do like about the photo and what I was trying to capture was the silvery, metallic, industrial look of the buildings and the landscape under the full moon. What I do not like is the noise of my sky (not sure if it was settings, lens, or PP where I removed the powerlines) and I want to learn how to get my shots crisper. Any advice would be great, even if you think the shot was not worth trying in the first place.

Last edited by Flurry; 11th May 2012 at 07:59 PM. Reason: Correct photo size

Real Name
    John

Re: Full Moon B&W skyline HELP PLEASE!

Hi Ginny,
    thanks for sharing your picture.
    I too am quiet new to photography, so am interested in the advice the more experianced members on this site can offer you.

I notice you used F10 and iso100. If I had tried this shot I would have used something like F5.6 / iso 800 to let more light into the camera and reduce the 2.5 sec exp. However, as I said I'm only learning and could be completely wrong, these are only my thoughts and look forward to getting advice on this type of shot, from the others at CIC.

Look forward to see what other's advise.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'