Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sharpness in images.

Real Name
    Rory

Sharpness in images.

Hello,
    My name is Rory and I live in Somerset. I am not an expert photographer but have been interested in photography for a long time. I have a Canon EOS 450D and although I am generally very satisfied with it's performance, since becoming interested in bird photography I am looking at ways to improve the sharpness of the images I take. Whist I appreciate things like camera steadiness affect sharpness I'm unclear to what extent the camera specification do. In particular the image sensor size and the number of pixels - currently 22.2 x14.8 and 12.2 effective pixels. If I upgrade any camera feature's will this improve the sharness and ability to enlarge the image? If anyone has got any advice about this matter I would be most grateful to hear it.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Sharpness in images.

Hello Rory and welcome to CiC. I hope this will be the first post in a long involvement with the forum and that we'll see some of your images on here as well as you taking part in discussions and asking questions.

First up, so that you don't continue to get people asking you what your proper name is, because most us use that on here, you can go to Edit Profile and enter your proper name under 'Real Name'. Then it will appear underneath your Username in all your posts. You can also enter your location so that it does the same, just as in my details alongside this message. Then we all know where everyone is in the world.

Second up, these threads will, I hope, prove helpful fro when you get into posting up some of your work:
    HELP THREAD: How can I post images here?
    How to Get Effective Feedback for your Posted Images

If you're unclear on forum ettiquette; there is a Code of Conduct in the FAQ here

And so to your question .................