Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: megapixel war.

Real Name
    pinaki

megapixel war.

I am worried that my camera Nikon D60 will be obsolete in few years!Newer technologies like mirrorless camera and,megamega pixel camera are alluring us.My question is there any relationship between increasing pixels and increasing resolution and beauty of a photograph?

Real Name
    Russell

Re: megapixel war.

Hi, JMO. Mega Pixels? well depends I suppose on what you are going to do with the photograph once it comes out of PP, as to is there any relationship between increasing pixels and increasing resolution and beauty of a photograph?
    The photograph is taken by you the photographer so you only get out what you put in, If you have camera of say 16MP is it worth going to 21MP again IMO, NO, I am not an expert but I don't believe 5MP will make that much difference to a photograph taken in good light with a quality lens and good composition unless your going to put it on a billboard and who gets that close to a billboard?
    Have a look on this site and others at older postings of photographs and see if you can see much difference.
    Russ

Real Name
    Homer

It's always nice to have the latest gadget or technology, but it comes at a cost and often times doen't really buy you much other than bragging rights. (Which for some, is very important.) As russellsnr noted, what really matters is what you are going to do with your images. If you are only going to display them on a computer screen or print 4x6 prints, the D60 will be good forever. I had a 2MP camera and its images are as good as anything I have from 8MP and 16MP cameras - as long as you don't try to blow them up too much.

If you want to print 16x20s, it might be time to invest in newer technology.

Real Name
    Doug Anderson