Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Action shots Indoors and at Night?

Real Name
    Jay

Action shots Indoors and at Night?

I'm new to photography, only really dabbling in it for a year now, but is there some tip or trick or technique that I'm missing here? I shoot at many horse shows and rodeos. Most of them start at dusk and can continue to the wee hours of the morning, others are indoors in poor lighting situations: lots of dust, filtered light, etc. Because of that I feel like I'm constantly having to sacrifice shutter speed for lighting? It's always either shoot the clear photo and heavily edit it later (not always with great results), or have a fairly lit photo that comes out blurry and unintelligible.
    I've had many people suggest using flash to brighten the arenas and know many great photographers who use this. I personally refuse to use this option as a rider. I've seen too many people's rides ruined because of flash photography and worse yet several people and horses injured. Sudden bright, large, blinding lights just don't mix well with prey animals. Any advice or insight on this matter is greatly appreciated, thank you. Oh and I shoot with a canon rebel T1i with a 70-300mm 1:4-5.6 III USM lens.
    -Jay
    Some examples of what I mean (and no I'm not experienced in post-processing):
    Unaltered- Indoor, dusty
    Altered
    Same venue, lowest shutter speed I could manage without the horse becoming one big blur- unaltered

Re: Action shots indoors and at night?

Not really a lot of options here, Jay.

Increasing the Iso can help but beyond Iso 800 you risk getting a lot of 'noise' particularly in the darker areas. In fact I would prefer not to go beyond 400 when possible.