Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question on macro lenses

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Question on macro lenses

A question for all of the macro experts out there. My wife expressed an interest in getting a macro lens on the weekend, but this is one part of photography I have very little experience in. I’ve played around with borrowed macro lenses on a couple of occasions, so I’ve at least used them and have a few thoughts about them. I suspect that small plants, rather than insects, are likely to be of interest to her, especially the tiny wild flowers, lichens and fungi that tend to grow close to the ground.

We both have a Nikon D90 and a D800 should be joining our collection very shortly, so a lens that works well on both an FX and DX sensor would be ideal, but I expect that the DX will likely get more use. We’re pretty well equipped with tripods, cable releases, and lighting equipment (including a ring flash).

My limited experience with macro was that a short focal length lens was a bit of a pain to use because of the shadows that the photographer casts, and of course having the gear crowding the subject matter. Depth of field was quite tight, so while a longer lens would certainly let the photographer work at a more comfortable range, the depth of field would be even more of an issue. Am I correct here or are these issues that are easy to work around?

So, I would like to ask for lens recommendations (and the rationale as to why the lens is being recommended), and that does not necessarily mean sticking with Nikon if there is a “better” product out there. I won't say that "budget is not an issue", but also recognize that quality does not come cheap and would prefer not have to replace the lens down the road because of quality and build issues.
    Last edited by Manfred M; 30th April 2012 at 03:05 PM.

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Question on macro lenses