Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: 3 Lenses - Suggestions?

3 Lenses - Suggestions?

Hello,

My first post here =), I'll keep it short and to the point.

I'm a semi-amature photographer just getting some more advanced gear and knowledge via courses. Over the next little while I'm looking to save up for three lenses.

1) Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM (Telephoto / range)
    2) Canon EF 180mm f/3.5 L USM Macro Lens
    3) Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM (Walk around)

I've done a bit of research on all lenses, and they seem to be the best options for what I'm doing.

I do a lot of portrait shots for friends/family. When I go on vacation I like to go to places that have lots of wildlife and flora. The only other main subject I work with would be structures.

If anyone has some opinions on different lenses they would like to share it would be greatly appreciated.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: 3 Lenses - Suggestions?

Quote Originally Posted by SteelyDan View Post
    Hello,

My first post here =), I'll keep it short and to the point.

I'm a semi-amature photographer just getting some more advanced gear and knowledge via courses. Over the next little while I'm looking to save up for three lenses.

1) Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM (Telephoto / range)
    2) Canon EF 180mm f/3.5 L USM Macro Lens
    3) Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM (Walk around)

I've done a bit of research on all lenses, and they seem to be the best options for what I'm doing.

I do a lot of portrait shots for friends/family. When I go on vacation I like to go to places that have lots of wildlife and flora. The only other main subject I work with would be structures.

If anyone has some opinions on different lenses they would like to share it would be greatly appreciated.
    The "usual" high-end Trilogy of lenses that I recommend are:

EF 16-35mm F2.8L USM II,

EF 24-70mm F2.8L USM, and the

EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS USM ...