Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner Seeking Advice on How to Improve Photos Using Photoshop Elements

Real Name
    Christina

Beginner Seeking Advice on How to Improve Photos Using Photoshop Elements

I was pretty excited to capture this whale breaching, (ie; more than a tail or a fin) but I'd like to know how to make these photos more special so they have more impact. Perhaps by making the background of the photos prettier, ie; perhaps make the ocean or sky bluer, or eliminating the rocky shoreline..

I'm new to photoshop elements and I'm comfortable with correcting white balance, filling light, improving clarity, and using colour curves...

I take a lot of nature shots and they typically have water or sky in the background.

Any general tips to share on how I can improve my photos?

Thank you.

Real Name
    Terry

Re: Beginner Seeking Advice on How to Improve Photos Using Photoshop Elements

Are you kidding me, Christina????

Before I could even make any suggestions, I'd have to pick myself up out of the floor so I could mention how cool it is that you snagged these magnificent creatures.

I don't know if I could have done it. I think would have been too overwhelmed by seeing them breech.

Awesome! We'll see what we can come up with!

Real Name
    Christina

No, I'm not kidding! Thank you... I am absolutely thrilled that I caught these whales breaching - a first for me... But I have also noticed that so many of the photos on this forum look like paintings, perfect in every detail, and I'd like to learn to do that.

Also, I'm trying to sell stock photos, and number 1 which I think is very pretty was rejected as a stock photo, so I need to learn to make my photos more special.
    Last edited by Brownbear; 28th March 2012 at 08:45 PM.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Christina! For many of us, getting something that would look better than these fantastic shots of yours takes learning how to get the most out of post processing.