Thread: Getting good bokeh

Getting good bokeh

Can a good bokeh effect be planned into a photo or is it lucky if it comes out right. What can I do to help to get that good bokeh effect. In sunshine, after rain or at night?

Real Name
    Mike

Re: Getting good bokeh

Quote Originally Posted by Skyline View Post
    Can a good bokeh effect be planned into a photo or is it lucky if it comes out right. What can I do to help to get that good bokeh effect. In sunshine, after rain or at night?

Hi Dave,

First thing I consider is the distance of the subject from the background..further the better. Then,
    I'll open the aperture to it's widest setting (shortest DOF). What is in the background makes a
    huge difference in the overall bokeh, as well as the size of the subject and distance from your lens
    to the subject. I'm pretty much self-taught, but I've found my best results with the lens as close to
    the subject as possible while still achieving perfect focus, and with the background as far from the
    subject as possible.

Set yourself up a practice subject, and using a colored background of some sort try
    taking the pics with the background and lens at varying distances from the subject.
    I did this in my backyard using 3 flowers in a vase as a subject, as although I had
    read plenty about it, I still had to get out there and figure it out for myself. Now, I
    can take those pics while in the field, knowing that I've picked the best setting for
    a sharp image with as good a bokeh as possible.

Mike
    Last edited by Dizzy; 16th March 2012 at 09:08 PM.

Real Name
    Mark Fleming

Hi Dave,

Mike has summed it up very well. The only thing I'll add is that the better (read more expensive ) the lens, the better the results as (you've guessed it) the "faster and wider" glass will give you a choice of wider aperture settings , thus blurring the background more, so out of focus raindrops/lights will be softer/bigger.