Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Critique please

Real Name
    Josh

Critique please

Critique please

So this image has been cropped. 50% maybe. I used a flash and got bright red eyes. Lightroom 3 has a red eye removal tool, so I used it and it looks bad to me. If I could have diffused the flash would that have lessened the red eye.

Critique please

This is another cropped photo. It looks ok to me but there is a branch or two in the foreground that have a purple tint that I don't like.

I just started shooting RAW and post processing is all new to me. I'm using a trail version of Lightroom 3, I'll probably buy Lightroom 4. Not sure about spending the money on Photoshop just now.

These images are linked for my CIC album. Hopefully the quality is good enough for you guys to let me know what you think.
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 9th March 2012 at 06:55 PM. Reason: converted second image url to img tags (so we can see it)

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Re: Critique please

Hi Josh. My feeling is that the overall image is dark and the owl blends in too much with the background. I'd try to lighten just the owl and brighten the catchlights in the eyes if you can. That should make the owl 'pop' a bit more and stand out against the dark background.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

I would agree with Frank.

Was it an in-built flash you were using or an on-board separate unit? Once you are more experienced in post-processing, I am sure you would be able to make better use of the red-eye tool.

I think you have done a very good job of throwing the background out of focus. And you have seized the opportunity of getting a really engaging moment, with the owl looking straight at you. Well done.

Real Name
    Andrew

It's always better to do the best you can in-camera. If you plan on doing a lot of birds here is something that genuinely works well.

http://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&...tXX2OA&cad=rja

Real Name
    Josh