Thread: Creating vibrance in pictures?

Creating vibrance in pictures?

Hello there.
    I would like to get tips in creating vibrance in my pictures.
    I'm using nikon d60 with vr 18-55lens. and i'm still a newbie to photography.
    My pictures are always ''boring'' due to the colours it gives out to me.

Re: Creating vibrance in pictures?

are you after making the pics more vibrant in post processing or in camera?

In post processing then it's easily done as you can do this in a wide variety of editing applications (from gimp to photoshop), how depends on the software and if it's the whole image or just some subjects you want to make more colourful.

Making colours stand out direct out the camera with no pp depends on the camera and settings. For instance most have a "chrome" mode for making jpeg images more colourful but this wont have any effect on raw (except maybe a meta tag that the inhouse developer (and possibly 3rd party) will read to select default colour levels), but raw files can look washed out sometimes (for me at least) before they are processed, especially when using a lot of none inhouse software in particular. For me using none fuji software (my cam is fuji btw) I notice this a lot but the software is the same just I presume fuji stuff is set to increase vibrancy defaults based on my camera.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

There are many ways, and which is best depends on the subject matter.
    It also depends on what image editing software you are using, so we'll need to know that first, and have an example image.

Chances are you'll end up with a little of each of the methods in most pics (well I do).

EDIT Davey has a good point; we also need to know whether you're talking about RAW or jpg?

EDIT2 If you haven't already, please read the CiC tutorial on LOCAL CONTRAST ENHANCEMENT.
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 14th June 2009 at 05:27 PM. Reason: added LCE tutorial link