Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: 5D Mk. II -v- 50D for Macro Photography

5D Mk. II -v- 50D for Macro Photography

Hello All, I am new to the 50D VS the 5D2 as of today and have a question on the 1.6 times closer question. I will be doing a lot of macro pics using the 2.8 100mm macro from Canon. I currently use that lens on one of the old original Digital Rebels so either camera I upgrade will be a huge upgrade. I didn't think I needed the video until I watched some of the video examples so now I am torn. I was going to go with the 50D until I saw the video and thought about what I could do with that as well.

As I said, I will be doing a lot of macro work (Saltwater Aquarium and corals) which I do now. What would be the easiest way to get that 1.6 factor back with the 5D2 as I would have with the 50D?

I hope that question makes sence.
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 14th June 2009 at 01:56 AM.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: 5D Mk. II -v- 50D for Macro Photography

Quote Originally Posted by Rusty View Post
    Hello All, I am new to the 50D VS the 5D2 as of today and have a question on the 1.6 times closer question. I will be doing a lot of macro pics using the 2.8 100mm macro from Canon. I currently use that lens on one of the old original Digital Rebels so either camera I upgrade will be a huge upgrade. I didn't think I needed the video until I watched some of the video examples so now I am torn. I was going to go with the 50D until I saw the video and thought about what I could do with that as well.

As I said, I will be doing a lot of macro work (Saltwater Aquarium and corals) which I do now. What would be the easiest way to get that 1.6 factor back with the 5D2 as I would have with the 50D?

I hope that question makes sence.
    Hi Rusty,