Thread: Deer portraits

Real Name
    Douglas Cronk

Deer portraits

My main purpose in taking these photos was to test my new monopod with my l00-400 mm lens (EF f4.5-5.6). I have had problems getting sharp photos handheld in low light with this lens, so the conditions (low light, 70 km/h wind) seemed about as difficult as it could get. A better test would have probably been a smaller subject (bird or even bird IF), but you can only get what is there. My goal with the deer was a portrait shot, a shallow depth of field and hopefully a reasonable bokeh. I think I was partially successful but I also think that there is too much busy stuff in the background. I tried a crop on the 3rd photo, but I don’t know if that improved it or not. The only PP was an adjustment of curves (let me know if I overdid it). I am a raw beginner in PP, but the tutorials here are a great help – I’m just a little slow about these things.

Deer portraits
    Deer face on. Bit of a boring pose. f5.6, 1/640, ISO 800, 340 mm

Deer portraits
    f5.6, 1/640, ISO 800, 340 mm

Deer portraits
    f5.6, 1/500, ISO 1000, 340 mm

Deer portraits
    I tried a crop on the previous pic to see if that would improve it. Maybe a little?
    f5.6, 1/500, ISO 1000, 340 mm

As always, you candid criticisms and advice are greatly appreciated.
    Cheers,
    Doug

Real Name
    Paul

Re: Deer portraits

Doug, I think you achieved the focus you were after, looks pretty sharp. Yes the background is a bit busy but I am guessing your model did not take to direction well. In the first two the foreground twigs that show green against the fur is something that has caught me up a couple times, I am betting you'll see them next time. Well done.

Real Name
    Douglas Cronk

Quote Originally Posted by jeeperman View Post