Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Film for Star Trails

Real Name
    Mavourneen

Film for Star Trails

I've been doing a lot of reading about using film for star trails. The advantage is longer exposures with little noise, than what you'd get with a DSLR. I purchased a used Canon Elan 7N today and going to throw on the 50mm F1.4 and bought a 3200 ISO film to take still shots of the stars, but going to buy the Fuji Velvia 50-200 for star trails.

any advice on the trails or a particular type of film for astrophotography?

Thanks!

Real Name
    Eugen

Re: Film for Star Trails

Hi Mavourneen,

I am no expert and IMO, you should use your existing digital camera.
    It gives you much more flexibility and by using a stacking software you can get results which wouldn't be possible when using film.
    It is not necessary to have one long exposure because:
    - the noise gets worse the longer the exposure
    - if you have anything else but the sky (any other ground light sources) it will be blown out by long exposures.

If you combine 20 x 3 minute exposures at 100 ISO that will be the equivalent of a 1 hour exposure, without the noise problems. If you take these shots consecutively without any intreruption (less than 30 seconds between consecutive photos) then you might not be able to see any breaks in the trail.

I will say it again: I am not an expert and this is my honest opinion.

Real Name
    Mavourneen