Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: How to take 3 or more pictures using Nikon D40 for HDR

How to take 3 or more pictures using Nikon D40 for HDR

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie in this forum and i've read most of the tutorial. Its very nice site and I've learn a lot. I'm new to photography and I just have Nikon D40 kit lens. When I read the HDR photography I was amaze by the outcome of the pictures taking 3 or more pictures with different exposure and combine them using photomatix or Adobe. That's where I decide to learn this techniques. Since I only have nikon D40 and no lens yet but the one that came with the camera. How do I take 3 or more pictures with different exposure to make HDR photo?

Wilfred Chang
    Philippines

Re: How to take 3 or more pictures using Nikon D40 for HDR

It seems the D40 lacks of an auto-bracketing feature, so you will have to shoot manually (this is no good news for you since touching the camer between shots undoutfully will end in image misalignment).

Set M mode and do 3 shots, one according to the camera metering, one -2EV underexposed and last +2EV overexposed with respect to the camera metering.

BR

Real Name
    Kori

I also have a Nikon D40 and read up on HDR photo merge. Yes you have to manually adjust - no auto bracketing!

But...if you have a strong tripod and still scene you can do it being very careful!

Good luck and post some pictures when you try it out!

Kori

Real Name
    David

Hi Wilfred - Welcome to the forum. The only thing I would add at the moment is that you want to make sure that your three or five or whatever shots differ in Tv, ie exposure time. Keep the aperture the same throughout so as to avoid depth of field effects.

Cheers

David

Real Name
    Tim Makins