Thread: help plz with highlights

help plz with highlights

Hello members,

I am a novice and I need help with this shot please, obviously a very bad one - can anyone plz help me with correcting the highlights. I know 90% of the shot is having the highlights, is it beyond salvage? but I quite liked this pic of my daughter.
    1. In future how to avoid such shots in the first place - I have a Canon 300D and I have been toying with EV compensation but not quite familiar with it, any suggestions. Or is there a particular mode that I need to select so that my camera default metering can help.
    2. Secondly – any post processing? I am not quite there even with the Photoshop elements 2 that I have. Are you guys thinking hard when anyone last used such old stuff?

Anyways Thanks in advance
    Regardshelp plz with highlights
    Sekhar
    Ooops! I should have posted this question in the post processing section. I hope it is ok.
    Last edited by sekhar; 4th June 2009 at 12:43 AM.

Re: help plz with highlights

I am also a novice so I'm not sure how helpful I can be, but what I would do is crop in close on your daughter and you will lose most of the over exposed background. You can also try to fix the color in photoshop. I'm sure Colin will get back to you. He has been more than helpful with me in similar situations. Actually, I'm not sure that I have looked at a thread without a post from him

Simple answer in two words, Fill Flash. Much is written elsewhere on this subject and it's a bit much to go into detail about.
    Basically it means exposing for the background and using flash to bring the main subject into exposure range.

I say its a beautiful capture!!
    go with the high light.

its all good!!

help plz with highlightshelp plz with highlights

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by sekhar View Post
    Ooops! I should have posted this question in the post processing section. I hope it is ok.
    Hi Sekhar,