Thread: hotel,devon,paignton

Real Name
    jason

hotel,devon,paignton

hotel,devon,paignton

Real Name
    John

Re: hotel,devon,paignton

I like it, very sharp. Would be willing to bet that you could have waiting a little bit longer in the evening and would have gotten more contrast in the image straight from the camera.

Real Name
    jason

hi thanks for your comments,im very new to this photography game,have a look at my mushroom one,thanks again

Real Name
    Graham Heron

Hi Jason,
    Great colour sky, you were out at a good time (a little before sunrise or a little after sunset).
    Love the colour contrast between the land and sky.
    Interesting lights (Xmas type lights) in vertical bands and that interesting pyramid shape. If you are nearby, some great potential for further shots.
    Could do with some straightening clockwise however.
    Also perhaps get a little closer and angle the camera more upwards to get more sky and less of the dull grey road. (Closer to the brick parking space may give some interesting foreground texture.
    And perhaps (if you are shooting on a tripod), you could put yourself in the image to the side to give it more scale and human interest. Again, lots of potential.
    Graham

Real Name
    jason

thankyou very much for your comments it was taken by hand on a 2 second exposure,i think i was lucky to get it looking well enough to see

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by jason lyons View Post
    thankyou very much for your comments it was taken by hand on a 2 second exposure,i think i was lucky to get it looking well enough to see
    HI Jason,

The EXIF says 1/60s (at f/3.5 and 18mm on a Nikon D3100 at iso 2800 with flash)

Perhaps you used the 2 second self timer?

or is it a combination of shots?

Apart from the tilt, which should be corrected in PP if you don't get it right at the time, it is a good shot as others have said.