Thread: Nikon or Canon??

Real Name
    Susan

Nikon or Canon??

Hello, I am new here. My name is Susan and I am a photography student. I need to buy a new Dslr and I have around $1000 to spend. I've been looking at the Nikon D5100 and Canon T3i. I was wondering if someone with more experiance could tell me which camera is better? I also want to be able to use it in the future, until I can aford a professional camera. I am also open to other recommendations on other cameras. Any advice would be helpful Thank you so much!

Real Name
    Allan Short

Re: Nikon or Canon??

Susan search through this part of the forum and you should find a half a dozen or more threads on that very topic. And welcome to Cambridge in Colour.

Allan

Real Name
    Andrew

You will find varying opinions based pretty much entirely on what the person has at the moment. With all the arguments for and against for any model you will find slight advantages for each in a particular price range. An important consideration has to be if you have friends with cameras, what do they have? DSLR present a pretty steep learning curve and although you can find all the information you need on the internet it's nice to have some close that can lead you through the basics. Because the DSLRs today are so close in functionality a good point to start is which one feels better in your hands. Which one is the most comfortable and you will carry around the most often? Keep in mind that a used camera from a reliable source may get you a more advanced model than new. Check out your local stores where you will get a warranty and some level of support afterwards. Happy hunting.

Real Name
    Peter

Same as above.
    Also, have a look at the lenses you might be using. The choice for a brand implies certain lenses as well (and excludes others), so you could look at specifications and prices and such and see whether that drives you in one direction or the other.

Real Name
    Lennart Elg