Thread: Wedding Photos..Help!

Wedding Photos..Help!

Hi Everyone

I am a keen photographer and currently studying it part time. However my friend has asked me to photograph her wedding. She knows my skill level (not professional) but want to save money and want natural snap shots.

I've not said yes yet as I'm still pretty scared as it's a big responsibility but I'd be grateful for ANY tips anyone can give me...

Thanks

Natalie

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Wedding Photos..Help!

Quote Originally Posted by nataliepini View Post
    Hi Everyone

I am a keen photographer and currently studying it part time. However my friend has asked me to photograph her wedding. She knows my skill level (not professional) but want to save money and want natural snap shots.

I've not said yes yet as I'm still pretty scared as it's a big responsibility but I'd be grateful for ANY tips anyone can give me...

Thanks

Natalie
    Hi Natalie,

In all seriousness, by advice is to simply not do it unless ...

- you're throughly conversant with all of the techniques needed to shoot in extremely difficult situations (eg low-light; harsh light)

- you've got good skills in controlling groups of people, many who may be well on the way to being drunk and/or don't want to co-operate

- you're used to dealing with pesky guests content on distracting your subjects with their own P&S photography

- You have all of the necessary equipment and backup equipment including flash / remote triggers / appropriate lenses / spare bodies