Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First post! 6 month old son...

First post! 6 month old son...

Hey all!

Apologies- I posed this on Lesson 8 in "School of Portraiture;" however, I was unsure that thread was only up for commentary from the administrator. So I have posted here for feedback as well!

So I would love some feedback.

First post! 6 month old son...

This was my first "formal" portrait session with my son. I feel it has nice balance/color; however, I am unsure about the lighting. I feel detail is lost on the right side of his face where it's darker. I used only natural light by our sliding glass door. Maybe a reflector would have helped? I feel like the eyes could have better lighting, too. That would help enhance the focus on his eyes.

As far as positioning... the fact that his shoulders aren't all in the photo makes it feel unbalanced to me!

I'm completely new to all of this, so my apologies in advance if I ask questions about lingo!

Thanks in advance!

Real Name
    Mal

Re: First post! 6 month old son...

Night bright eyes, a gorgeous smile, and a background that doesn't distract - looks pretty good all in all

Personally I think the lighting is fine. I'm looking through my work TV so I don't have it calibrated but it's not really that dark at all and the gradual lighting that comes across your son's face serves to make the photo more three dimensional. I think your may be right about the shoulders, although you might find adjusting the crop - perhaps taking some off the bottom might help the balance - I'm not 100% sure.

My one criticism I think is that your focus point appears to be on the very front of the beanie. I can see the texture quite clearly there but by the time I get to your son's eyes they appear to be soft. I'd suggest that is the actual reason why focus doesn't fall on his eyes straight away.