Thread: School Gym Pictures

School Gym Pictures

Would anyone have any suggestions on taking pictures in a school gym?

I have a Canon T3i and I am very new at this. From what I have read I would use WB and turn it to florescent.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Re: School Gym Pictures

Gyms often use metal-halide lighting that can have a range of color temperatures. Not only would I use a custom white balance, but I'd probably balance again after 1/2 hr. The process for setting a custom white balance starts on page 117, 118 of your T3i manual.

It perplexes me that the Canon's method for setting a custom white balance on a DSLR requires so many steps. On my Canon A710 compact, I highlight the custom WB symbol, press the "menu" button to shoot my reference and it's done. On my Nikon D90 DSLR I just press and hold the WB button for two secs, then shoot a reference...done. But it seems like there's no way to get around Canon's multi-step process of having to shoot a WB reference, selecting the image for you custom WB, and then selecting the custom WB symbol to set your WB option. Still, I recommend doing it as it will give you the best chance of getting accurate colors. Get yourself a good WB reference card. I recommend getting the 6"x9" Novoflex Zebra, which is also an 18% gray for setting exposure. Other worthy products are the WhiBal, Digital Gray Card, Digital Grey Kard, ExpoDisc, and Xrite ColorChecker Mini Gray Balance Card. The cheapest is the Robin Myers Digital Gray Card for 15 bucks, and I wouldn't get anything cheaper than that. The ExpoDisc and the ColorChecker can also be used to set exposure.