Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Lurker becomes poster - HDR urban examples

Real Name
    Dave Corbett

Lurker becomes poster - HDR urban examples

Hi Folks!

I've been a fan of Sean McHugh's work for a long time and have been lurking about this site for almost a year.

I'll be the first to admit that I push the HDR technique farther than most. I've been shooting a lot of urban night scenes with mixed color temperatures and neon.

Boosting the luminosity and saturation gives a more impressionistic look that I like, even if it's not technically accurate.

I'm still learning, but here is an image I think turned out well - I'd appreciate comments and suggestions.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Lurker becomes poster -

Hi Dave,

Nice work.

As you say, it's not photorealistic, but so what - that's never stopped any of us before!

Quite unique style - different, but pleasant.

Only thing I'd change is to lose what remains of the bike on the left-hand side (by cloning, not cropping).

PS: "Welcome" to CiC - great to have another contributor

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Dave,

Yes I like that too.

I have to say I initially found the fire escape and the bright light above it on the extreme left distracting, but the image needs it; both for depth perception and to balance against the car, but I'm waffling, all I know is it isn't as good without it there, so I agree with Colin about the bicycle, don't crop it off.

Normally I'd ask a new member to pop an intro in that thread, but you've done a fair job here, so it's by no means as necesary in your case.

Welcome to the forums from ...

Real Name
    Chris

If you are trying to achieve the feel of the scene that it is pretty unsafe to wait till the guy returns to his car, you have succeeded Dave...
    ...and welcome to the active part of the forum