Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Choosing between two Canon Macro lenses

Choosing between two Canon Macro lenses

This forum appears to be a skyrocketer for a beginner. A few days after registration I've already stepped my photo game up a bit. So please help me to choose between (1) Canon EF 100 mm F/2.8 USM macro and (2) Canon EF 50 mm F/2.5 Compact Macro.

Im a dentist and my goal is to make nice macro photos of my restorations. My little 18-55mm lens works pretty well for local purposes, but posting my photos on the web and showing them to future patients requires a Macro lens and a Ring Lite. Those two lenses, I cant choose between them. (2) is definitely cheaper, lighter, has smaller minimal focus distance. But reviews on the Canon site say it's too noisy, too slow to focus, and my Moscow colleagues mostly use (1), plus it has excellent reviews and it seems like no one cares about 100mm focus disctance. So which one should I choose?

My goals in photography (goals in dentistry - already reached some):

http://forum.stom.ru/topic/17407-4-c...ax-est-vopros/

Real Name
    Rob Douglas
    I would say #1. It is a better lens and you won't have to stick it down a patents throat to get the shot. The 50mm has a 0.23m/0.8 ft. min focus distance whereas the 100mm is 0.31m/1 ft. A difference of 0.8m/0.4 ft. So you can get pretty much twice the magnification at nearly the same working distance or be at a
    More comfortable working distance and still get the same results. I've used both and like the build quality of the 100mm better as well.

Real Name
    Remco

Re: Choosing between two Canon Macro lenses