Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: novice needs help on sports and portrait lenses

novice needs help on sports and portrait lenses

Hi everyone, I'm VERY new to photography and have been on your website that past few months taking the tutorials and playing with my camera. I have the Canon Rebel XT from two years ago and with 3 kids I'm just starting to really "play" with the camera. The more I play the more I realize how much my lens that came with my camera sucks.
    I'm looking for 2 lenses:
    1. Sport photo's i.e. cross country/ track and field, and soccer. Sometimes I'm 50 yards away or more from the shot I would like to get. Tamron? Pentax? 18-250, or 70-200 2.8 VR, or...
    2. Portraits

Since I'm a novice I'm trying to keep price reasonable. Put it this way I'm not shelling out a grand for a zoom lens at this point in my "career".

Thanks in advance for helping me out.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: novice needs help on next lens

Quote Originally Posted by sharlo99 View Post
    Hi everyone, I'm VERY new to photography and have been on your website that past few months taking the tutorials and playing with my camera. I have the Canon Rebel XT from two years ago and with 3 kids I'm just starting to really "play" with the camera. The more I play the more I realize how much my lens that came with my camera sucks.
    I'm looking for 2 lenses:
    1. Sport photo's i.e. cross country/ track and field, and soccer. Sometimes I'm 50 yards away or more from the shot I would like to get. Tamron? Pentax? 18-250, or 70-200 2.8 VR, or...
    2. Portraits

Since I'm a novice I'm trying to keep price reasonable. Put it this way I'm not shelling out a grand for a zoom lens at this point in my "career".

Thanks in advance for helping me out.
    Hi "Sharlo99"