Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: How to take head shots with eye detail?.

Real Name
    Mario

How to take head shots with eye detail?.

Hello. I'm an beginner photographer.

I'm about to buy a DSLR. I would like to do is to take sharp close head shoots with as fine detail on the iris as possible and also direct close up to eyes like the ones bellow. Will a kit lens be enough?. Do I need additional accessories for lighting?. Is there something special I should look for when buying the camera body?.

Thanks in advance.

P.S: Let me know if the thumbnails are the wrong size.

Real Name
    Scott Benz

Re: How to take head shots with eye detail?.

Mario,

Your question is too broad. It's sort of like saying, "I'd like to get around Nürburgring in a 1:45.00, I'm just getting into racing cars. Would a nice Chevy or an Audi work? Is there anything else I need or should be thinking about?"

The first two shots you posted probably incorporated a model, make up artist, hair stylist, a highly developed photographic eye, lighting, experience, probably more lighting, post processing software, a serious working knowledge of all of the above and below, a full frame DSLR, lenses, patience, an assistant, lighting and perhaps a reputation that preceeds you. That is not to say that with work and knowledge you couldn't get something similar with less.

Photography is a wonderful journey with a huge learning curve. Start by mastering the basics. Read tutorials on this site or other good sites. There are some great books out there as well. Post your images here allow others to help you develop your skills.

There is a wide range of equipement our there. It's obvious you would like to get good a portaiture perhaps macro do you have some sort of budget set?

The journey is the fun part. Enjoy it!

Real Name
    Sam Smith, I have photo ID