Thread: Optimal Zoom Range

Optimal Zoom Range

My question relates to the references to exif data sometimes supplied with photographs.

For my Sony DSC-H1 12x optical zoom, the lens reads 1=6.0-72.0mm 1=2.8-3.7

The EXIF data for this photo following, shows 63 mm., and I would attach this to a photo sometimes on this forum perhaps. This seems a little misleading perhaps, when I read that the focal length coverge is actually 36-432mm (in 35mm equivalence).

I am new to these technicalities, but I'm thinking, does this mean I should be quoting the larger number mm as the true reading, for others taking notes on this forum?

If that is the case, how would I equate the value? It's not a mater of multiplying x 12 I know.

For example:
    Optimal Zoom Range

Optimal Zoom Range
    Last edited by Carole M; 7th January 2012 at 06:53 AM. Reason: revised wording

Real Name
    Mal

Re: Optimal Zoom Range

Quote Originally Posted by Carole M View Post
    My question relates to the references to exif data sometimes supplied with photographs.

The EXIF data for this photo following, shows 63 mm., and I would attach this to a photo sometimes on this forum perhaps. This seems a little misleading perhaps, when I read that the focal length coverge is actually 36-432mm (in 35mm equivalence)
    Based on there information you've provided it's just a matter of multiplying your camera's focal length by 6 to get the 35mm equivalent.

Re: How to refer to mm's

Quote Originally Posted by Goldcoastgolfer View Post
    Based on there information you've provided it's just a matter of multiplying your camera's focal length by 6 to get the 35mm equivalent.
    Thankyou Malcolm. Should I be making reference to 378 mm in this case, or keep to the exif-data?

Does this 378 mm equate to (much the same) someone else posting with a 400 mm lens reference then?

Real Name
    Mal