Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shutter and Ap max

Shutter and Ap max

Just curious, but in what circumstances would you use a shutter of say 4000 or an aperture of f32.
    These things are on my camera but I've never used them as yet.

If anyone has a pic to show at either of these setting (or higher) please do.

Real Name
    Mal

Re: Shutter and Ap max

Never used an aperture stopped down that much - I would assume diffraction would become a problem.

The faster shutter speeds are used to freeze really fast moving object - say a drop of water hitting a surface. The photo below is one I took of a spinning top where I wanted to freeze the motion to give the viewer that the top was just balancing without spinning - taken at 1/8000s

Shutter and Ap max

Thanks Malcolm. I thought 2000 would be enough to freeze most things (I don't know as I'm a happy novice). So at that sort of shutter speed you've used, would that be used on very fast jets etc.

Real Name
    Mal

The single drop of water hitting a surface and bouncing back up is the one that I've seen that you'd really need an ultra-fast shutter speed for. There are also of course those super bright days combined when you might want to open up your lens really wide for a shallow DOF - I had an f/1.8 - 1/4000 combination the other day.

Real Name
    John