Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Calm before the storm

Real Name
    Jack

Calm before the storm

Hey all,
    I took these yesterday in the early dawn hours coming home from work.
    You can see the weather front moving.
    Your comments are always welcome.

Jack

Calm before the storm

Calm before the storm

Re: Calm before the storm

I like the first one the most as seems more balanced from the point of view of composition. Only change I would make (and I'm no expert so don't take this as gospel) is slight crop take off a slice of the bottom bringing the boat to around the 33% up vertical line so it sits on the focus point. Possibly a slight contrast increase (with a burn brush rather than global) on the bridge and land to slightly enhance it's detail but not more than a slight touch so as not to pull focus from the boat.

Only other thing I notice is there is a lot of chroma noise. I don't mind luma noise so much as often it's not too distracting and the graininess can add to the image and complete lack of it in smooth gradient compositions like this can make it plastic looking and wrong. Chroma noise I never like though as it is more noticable.

Lastly the main thing I like (although not exclusively) is the eerie look to it. It reminds me of that trashy zombie film (I forget which now) with the boat drifting in at the beginning. There haven't been any outbreaks since you returned from work I trust?

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

I endorse what Davey has written in terms of Number 1 and the points made about it - although I'm still trying to get to grips with the different forms of noise!

I love the mood of the image.

I notice three spots, which I take to be house or street lights, on the land at 11 o'clock from the stern of the boat. These could be cloned out.

Lovely image.

Real Name
    Chris

Yes, the bridge as a counter-weight to the boat is good in the 1st; agree on general comment by Davey, think the 3 lights help!