Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Ubuntu - Linux

Real Name
    Nigel Holmes

Ubuntu - Linux

Hi, I've been a MS Windows and Photoshop (CS2 & CS5) user for a long time but recently I installed an SSD (solid state drive) into my second machine in an attempt to get to learn Ubuntu, of which I think is great. I have downloaded Gimp and RawTherapee today but have not had chance to try either of them out. Do any of you use this combination of software and if so, how do you find the results compared to Photoshop? I know that Linux users are thin on the ground and I've got lots of questions but will leave it at this for now.

Many thanks.

CiC is the best forget the rest!

Stockholm, Sweden (and sometimes Santiago de Cuba)
    Real Name
    Urban Domeij

Re: Ubuntu - Linux

I've been using the Ubuntu distro since 2005 and migrated completely from Windows when I retired a couple of years ago. Never had a problem with it. My youngest son is a Linux hacker since early nineties and I have had a Linux server since -95, although I didn't try it on the desktop until 2005.

I use Raw Therapee and Gimp, and the tastes of Photoshop that I have used before were Photoshop 4.0 from the nineties and Elements 3.0 that I bought in 2004. Gimp is not quite as "user friendly" as Elements, but once I got the hang of it, it does a decent job. I often use Raw Therapee for white balance correction, even in jpegs, something that Elements was absolutely worthless at. I don't know if Photoshop is any better now in that respect, although I would think that any RAW converter that can open a jpeg would do a decent job. None of the Photoshop versions I used was good at it. I don't know about the CS flavours; they might be better.