Thread: Zoom for Nikon D7000

Real Name
    David Lapin

Zoom for Nikon D7000

So I have just invested in a D7000 and:

Nikon 50mm f/1.4G Autofocus Lens AF-S Nikkor
    Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S NIKKOR Zoom Lens and
    Nikon - AF-S 105/2.8G ED IF VR Vibration Reduction Micro Lens

The one I am least sure about is the 24-120...it feels like a "neither here nor there" lens. Would I be better off with say, a 70mm-200mm or more for real telephoto, and a separate wide lens?

I am brand new to this wonderful art and would value whatever guidance I can get.

Real Name
    David Lapin

Re: Zoom for Nikon D7000

Any thoughts on comparison between Nikon AF-S 24-120mm f/4 VR AND
    18-200 1:3.5-5.6GII ED?

Real Name
    Chris

I got the Nikkor 55-300 and couldn't be more pleased with it. It works quite well as a "macro" and nicely as a long lens.

This is a semi macro - closeup shot I made with this lens from about 4 feet away, slightly overcast day.

Zoom for Nikon D7000

And this one from about 100 feet at the 55mm end

Zoom for Nikon D7000

Real Name
    John

It would depend on what setting you use the lens and what it is you feel is lacking at that setting. How well does the lens perform at f/4 versus f/5.6?

Real Name
    John Varndell

The 70-200mm f2.8 is a wonderful lens and by adding a 2X Teleconverter you will get exceptional zoom qualities. Obviously the TC slows the lens from f2.8 to f5.6, but in good light it remains a fast lens.
    John (just joined the group today!!)

Real Name
    Robin

The 24-120mm is a FX lens that is meant to go on the D700 not the D7000 - though it will fit and work before anyone starts.

The equivalent DX lens is the 16-85mm (24-127.5mm with the crop factor added) which while it's not a f4 is a very sharp lens and a better around solution. Your other option would be a Nikon 10-24mm to go with what you have. Lots of swapping lenses but they fit nicely together focal length wise.

Real Name
    Chris