Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Histograms

Histograms

I am completely new to digital ... I SWORE I'd never do it, but I have and I'm already regretting it.

I've spent the last 19 years using a Mamiya 645 and Fuji Velvia film ... film has been getting too difficult to get and I feel I'm getting left behind. I've just spent a fortune on a Nikon D3 ... I'm sure it's the best money can buy, but the few images I've shot are not a PATCH on my old Mamiya.

I've been getting some advice ... I've seen a few CDROM tutorials etc ... but I'm lost. I was recently advised to look at the camera's Histograms; I googled and landed here. I've read the Histogram pt 1 and 2 and I feel completely at a loss ... I don't get ANY of it at all ... it's WORSE than when I first started in 1991, and I feel like I've never even picked up a camera before.

Any help would be SO appreciated,

Greg
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 14th June 2009 at 09:01 AM.

Re: Histograms

Hi Greg,

I know the feeling; shot for years with Olympus and Canon film systems and am now on my second Canon DSLR. Just my opinion, but the digital images are not yet up to the best film images, although your camera is certainly very capable. I think a lot of the transition has to do with going from a chemistry based system to one strictly digital - we got very used to the way particular films would expose and the sorts of photos we could expect. Most of the time I feel slightly disconnected from the digital process - hard to explain. That said, I think a lot of the problem has to do with setting up the camera - white balance, color space, file size, etc. Trial and error should get you to settings that produce photos with the look you want. Good thing about digital is it's cheap to take tons of photos and you can auto bracket to your heart's content.