Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Path

Path

I'm quite new to photography. I'll be much obliged if you can show my weaknesses
    Path

Real Name
    Nigel
    I like the perspective and the way the picture blends into the mist. The exposure looks well controlled. I tried to crop out the right set of tracks to see if it looked any better but in the end it looks good as it is. A very nice atmospheric picture.

Real Name
    John

Re: Path

Shavik,

At first glance, I noticed it broke the rule of thirds, but it works as a composition none the less because of its use of leading lines and the contrast between the sharpness of the train and the fogginess of the tree line.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Shavik and welcome to CiC! The image is nicely exposed with great color, composition, and mood. Great use of angles!

For an image that shows great depth like this, the foreground should be really sharp and it looks too soft for me. Other than that, it works well!

Real Name
    Kevin

hi shavik,

Frank's point is a good one. I noticed the same thing, but wondered whether the foreground softness was intentional- a creative focusing that contributes to a more surreal image. Personally, I often like the effect, though I also struggle with when to attempt it. I often shoot for both, as the spirit moves me

Nice job,

Kevin

Thank you very much for your comments. Really helped me

I like the atmospherics too. I wondered if the tree on the left (behind the train) was a little dominant. When I cut it out by putting a hand over it, I thought the result strengthened the perspective without taking away from the atmosphere.

Love the red carriages.

Cheers
    Nihia

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Quote Originally Posted by Nihia View Post
    I wondered if the tree on the left (behind the train) was a little dominant. When I cut it out by putting a hand over it, I thought the result strengthened the perspective without taking away from the atmosphere.