Thread: Lucifer Falls, Enfield Glen State Park, N.Y.

Real Name
    Paul

Lucifer Falls, Enfield Glen State Park, N.Y.

This is my first attempt at an HDR panorama, as well as my first posting for c&c. I would appreciate any comments and critique that anyone would care to share.

Canon 5D MkII, Canon 24-105L, 35mm
    f/22, (1/4, 1, 4) sec., ISO 50

3,3-shot HDR panorama (9 images) using HDR Efex Pro, photomerge in CS5

Real Name
    Steve

Re: Lucifer Falls, Enfield Glen State Park, N.Y.

A very nice composition paul, but is lacking a little zip.

I adjusted the levels---added a little saturation with lab mode---added some contrast---sharpened

Nice job, just needed a little post processing to bring it alive.

Real Name
    Steve Owen

A very nice composition paul, but is lacking a little zip.
    That was my exact! response. At least its not over processed though, that is; it does not have the cartoonist look of some of the HDR attempts I've seen.

Real Name
    Steve Owen

Here is another take; I used PSE, and a plugin called Contrast Master. The setting was Dynamic Contrast, and then I added just a touch of black-point adjustment. No color boost, or sharpning.

Real Name
    Paul

Thanks, Steve. I had actually decreased the Vibrance in Lightroom before I output it, as wanted it to look realistic, as opposed to an over-saturated HDR image; I guess I went too far. I went back and re-edited it, adjusting the vibrance, clarity, and brightness sliders, and tweaked the tone curve and contrast slightly. Hopefully this looks better. (I also cropped it slightly on the left edge to get rid of the tree trunk on the left edge that I didn't notice until after I posted originally.) Thank you for taking the time to do your edit; it helped me see the possibilities. I could also see that my initial posted image was very flat.

Paul

Real Name
    Paul

Quote Originally Posted by steve40 View Post