Thread: Post processing advice

Post processing advice

I am posting a unprocessed and then a cropped and processed image (ACR and PS5).
    The processing involves a 80% crop followed by usual and workflow including brightening and sharpening the eyes.
    My intention is to focus on the subject's expression.
    My questions:-

1. Is the crop too tight?
    2. Is the processing too obvious?
    3. What else do you suggest to improve the impact for a viewer?

Many thanks for your time and views.

Raghunath

Unprocessed
    Post processing advice

Processed
    Post processing advice

Real Name
    Andrew

Re: Post processing advice

IMO - for a portrait, it's way too out of focus. Rather than cropping, re-take the photo and get in close. Then, if you still have to crop any, it won't be 80%!! But here, even the eyes, which are the key feature in a 'typical' portrait, are not in focus. Again, this is only my opinion - I'm by no means a pro - but I'm not a huge fan of the lady's hand covering her face either, it detracts from her smile.

Hope that helps a little?

Real Name
    John

Hi,
    I'm sorry to say I too think this picture would benefit from being retaken.
    I do not think PP will enable you to get the sharp facial details you require. I do think the crop is slightly too tight and think that if the picture could be retaken, it would be wise to reposition the camera the lady is holding to reveal more of her face. It is imperative her face not only be tight within the frame, but more importantly in focus. I like your idea, but such tight cropping IMO very rarely works.

I think, Raghunath, if you just cropped slightly and still showed her elbows, mostly to remove the shoes on the right, plus a similar amount from the sides you would have a good result here.

Then just a little extra brightness.