Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First photo post - how can I improve this image?

Real Name
    Liz

First photo post - how can I improve this image?

I took this image at the Lockhart picnic races last weekend. It is the announcement of the 'Best Hat' winner and the lady on the right is the winner. It was overcast but glary. I used a Canon 50d and a Canon EF f4-5.6 IS USM lens at 160mm. ISO 400, f5. I have cropped it and attempted some post processing in Lightroom ( I am a real beginner here). I liked the humour on the faces and the pleasure of the winner.

best-hat.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 25th October 2011 at 09:00 AM. Reason: Unsuccessful photo attachment

Real Name
    John

Re: First photo post - how can I improve this image?

Hi Liz,

1. You don't need to use such a high ISO during the daytime. Try 100 or 200.
    2. What was your shutter speed?
    3. The crop is a bit severe on both sides, don't crop off parts of the subjects body.
    4. If you don't have a tripod, use a faster shutter speed to freeze the moment.
    5. Was this a candid shot, the subjects appear to be moving freely, which created motion blur?

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by Shadowman View Post
    2. What was your shutter speed?
    I'll guess about 1/1250th.

In which case I would have also used less than ISO 400.

I think you have done about all that you could at the time of shooting, Liz.

What I would do with this image is to add a little more brightness during editing. However, this runs the risk of creating some hotspots by slightly over exposing some of the highlight areas.

This can be overcome by editing with an Adjustment Layer, including a mask, and carefully editing the mask to avoid over exposing any potential problem areas.

But if you aren't familiar with this, or similar techniques, it may seem a bit daunting at first; although not really difficult.